English Department Merit Pay Policy 15 October 2013

Inasmuch as Policy 6.1.7 states, "The faculty of each department will develop or adopt written regulations including formulas, process[,] and models to guide the distribution of [merit] funds," and considering that Policy 6.1 currently contains conflicting and contradictory guidelines for the awarding of faculty merit pay, the English Department has adopted the following policy and procedure for the disbursement of merit funds in those years when such funds are available.

We feel faculty should not have to apply for merit pay consideration. Instead, deserving faculty should simply be rewarded for the good and worthy efforts they expend in the day-to-day exercise of their jobs as teachers and scholars. Although the current Faculty Annual Activity Report (FAAR) application form includes a check box for faculty to indicate they wish to be considered for merit recognition, the English Department considers anyone who submits a FAAR to be eligible for merit pay.

Inasmuch as the Department Chair reviews all the FAARs and is otherwise well appraised of faculty efforts and performance, the Chair will select faculty members to be considered for merit pay. The Chair will forward those names to the Department Leave, Rank, and Tenure (LRT) committee for review and to act as a check and balance. If the Department LRT concurs with the Chair's recommendations, the Chair will forward the names to the Humanities and Social Sciences' Dean. If not, the committee will meet with the Chair to finalize the list of recommended faculty. Members of the Department LRT committee are eligible for merit pay, but the Department Chair is *not* eligible for merit pay.

Based on the FAARs, the recommendations and commendations of other faculty members, and personal insights and observations, the Department Chair will designate three faculty for special recognition and recommend them for merit pay. Following the lead of annual University awards, the English Department will recognize an Outstanding Educator, an Outstanding Scholar, and an Outstanding Lecturer each fall. Faculty will not be allowed to win the same award in back-to-back academic years.

Approved 16 October 2013